New Harper Lee – The Greatest Gift Tuesday Could Give Me.

No, this is not some fantastic literary dream, this is reality. This is actually happening.

This July, decades after the publication of To Kill a Mockingbird, Harper Lee is releasing a new novel (her second).

“Go Set a Watchman” will be a direct sequel to Mockingbird, and will depict Scout Finch returning to Maycomb, Alabama to visit her father Atticus. It will take place approximately 20 years after the events of To Kill a Mockingbird.

What makes the publication of this book so amazing – other than the fact that is happening – is that “Go Set a Watchman” was actually written before To Kill a Mockingbird, in fact it grew out of flashback scenes written in the upcoming novel. According to a statement released by Harper Lee earlier today, she was advised by her editor at the time to scrap this first novel and write a different one form the childhood perspective of Scout. She says, “I was a first-time writer, so I did as I was told.”

Now, I throw the words “favorite book” around a lot, but when I speak of Lee’s To Kill a Mockingbird, I am completely serious. It is my favorite book of all time. I have read it countless times, studied it numerous times and event taught it a once or twice. I always cry at the end. I always get nervous when Scout encounters Boo Radley. I love the depiction of racial tensions Lee captures. And, most of all, I love Scout.

You can read more about this huge literary announcement here, including some more detail about Lee’s announcement and the events surrounding the book’s (re)discovery.

This is just so exciting!

July – you will be one excellent month!

Leave a Reply

