Pushing forward. (Also, a few bookish thoughts).

Well, it’s January of a new year (2016 – my 36th year on the planet) and you all know what that means, right? Time to, yet again, try to make this whole blogging thing happen. My attempts at making a go of blogging last year were…well, sub-par at best. So, I’m making a new invigorated attempt at blogging again this year. And maybe this time it’ll stick!

Fingers crossed anyways.

So, what happened? Why did my blogging suddenly taper off? Sadly, I don’t have a very good answer to that – nothing really exciting happened to precipitate the abrupt end of my great blogging dreams. I didn’t all of a sudden decide to write a novel or go on a round-the-world trip or anything like that. I had all these grand intentions one day and the next…I didn’t. Perhaps I got hit with a rather strong dose of writer’s block or maybe I suddenly felt like I had nothing worthwhile to contribute to the conversation or maybe I got sucked into a black hole and spent the last 12 months fighting aliens to return home. But either way, I went away and now I’m back.

I’m setting some goals for myself this time around. For instance, I want to blog at least once a week. The blog will be almost entirely book based – reviews, talking about latest releases, my reading goals and hopes for 2016. And yeah, Libraries and Librarianship will pop up as topics as I hear or think about things I want to talk about. I’m sure to slip and fall along the way, but I’m going to try and do it…I’m going to blog.

So, let’s get down to it.

It’s still early enough in January that I can do a “Best of 2015” list, right? Well, even if you don’t think so, I’m doing one. My top five reads of 2015 (published in 2015).

5) Neil Gaiman – Trigger Warnings: Short Fictions and Disturbances.

This one surprised me a bit – I knew it was going to be good, but I figured my mild aversion to short fiction would overcome my love for Gaiman and make me really dislike this book. But I forgot to factor in one other thing – how good of a story teller Gaiman is. These stories all drip with a kind of creepy luxuriousness that it was incredibly hard not to fall for them.

4) Robert Galbraith – Career of Evil

I am a mystery lover and a lover of J. K. Rowling, so this series is rather near and dear to my heart. I wasn’t sure what to expect from the third installment of the Cormoran Strike series, but I was rewarded by a lush, intricate mystery that kept me on my toes and cheering for Cormoran and Robin all the way through.

3) Jenny Lawson – Furiously Happy

Jenny Lawson makes me happy. That pretty much sums up why she’s here. But to elaborate, I think she might be one of the most heartfelt and powerful advocates for mental health awareness out there. Plus, how can you not love a very excited taxidermied racoon!?

2) Patrick DeWitt – Undermajor Domo Minor

When I first read The Sister Brothers, I instantly fell in love. DeWitt’s humour and intelligence and wit (pardon the pun) completely captured me and made me excited to be reading a western. And once again, in Undermajor Domo Minor, DeWitt was able to make me truly want to know as much as I could about these characters. I was so completely invested in the mystery and plot of the novel that I actually forgot to breath at points.

1) Harper Lee – Go Set a Watchman

My last blog post was about the announcement of Lee’s new novel, so there seems to be some kind of symmetry to having this book hold the number one spot on this list. There has been a lot of back and forth on this book and whether it is deserving the praise (and condemnation) it’s be receiving since being published in July. But I adored it – and hated it too a little bit – but it gave us a glimpse into Lee’s mind as an emerging author in the 1950s and challenged our beliefs as to exactly what a literary hero is.

Okay, that’s all for this week…I’ll think up something fun for the next post!

 

Leave a Reply

